To Apply For Employment
WISD and Washtenaw County School District Job Opportunities Link
The Washtenaw Human Resources Consortium is an association of Washtenaw County school districts that permits a single-stop employment submission
WISD provides LiveScan fingerprinting services (no ink cards), for School Employment (SE), Daycare Licensing (DCL) and National Child Protection Act (CPE) at its facility at 1819 S Wagner Rd, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106.
LIVESCAN Fingerprint Request Form in PDF format.
PESG Registration STEPS - Districts - WASHTENAW COUNTY SUBSTITUTES
Washtenaw County Substitute Teacher and Substitute Teaching Assistant Enrollment Process
Most school districts in Washtenaw County beginning in 2007-2008 school year is changing the "Substitute Teacher and Substitute Teaching Assistant Enrollment Process" for current and new subs. Please check with Saline Area Schools for their "Enrollment Process". Professional Educational Services Group, LLC (PESG) will hire all substitutes beginning in the Fall 2007. For more information visit their website at www.contractsubs.com or call (616) 891-0509 with any questions.
Individuals wishing to Substitute as a Teacher or teaching assistant within Washtenaw County will need to meet the following qualifications:
Certified Teacher with a valid Michigan Teaching Certificate.
Non-Certified Teacher Official Transcript showing at least 90 hours of college credit with a 2.0 GPA is required.
Fingerprints (New Teachers can get printed at WISD) check schedule OR
If you have been fingerprinted "in another" district since January 2006, you must contact that district and sign their "Release Form", to be sent to PESG.
High school diploma, GED or Official Transcript (If you have taken class at a community college or university.
An Official Transcript is only required if you are not a Certified Teacher in Michigan.
An Official Transcript is a transcript "sealed" and received from your college/university. Transcript will show completion of at least 90 semester hours of satisfactory credit. Satisfactory is defined as a "C" (2.0) cumulative grade-point average or better. Also, these credits must have been completed at or transferred to a four-year college/university; credits will not be accepted directly from a community college. All credits must be consolidated on ONE transcript.
A School district or nonpublic school may apply for a substitute permit approval for an individual who has completed not less than 90 semester credit hours of satisfactory college credit. The credit shall be consolidated at a one 4-year regionally accredited college or university.
The substitute permit is valid for teaching on a substitute basis from September 1 to August 31 of a given school year. Teaching on a substitute basis means teaching when the regular certificated teacher is temporarily absent. The permit is not valid for any regular or extended teaching assignment. An established or extended teaching assignment is defined as an assignment to the same classroom for more than 90 calendar days.
Individuals who hold valid Michigan teaching certificates are not required to have a substitute permit approval for teaching in short term assignments of 90 calendar days or less outside of the grade level and subject area validity of their teaching certificates.
A substitute permit is renewable each year and the cost is $25. If the $25.00 is not paid within 60 days, the State will rescind your permit. Another permit may not be obtained until the delinquent fee has been paid.
To Apply For Employment